Tags

, , , , , , ,

th

There is something about this title that didn’t sit well with me. It sounded so cliche or would I say, so plain and self explanatory. Where She Went was published in 2011 as a sequel to If I Stay. I never knew there was a sequel to it until a friend sent it to me. With the way If I Stay ended, of course one would really want to know what happened next.

The book started three years after the accident that killed Mia’s whole family, the same three years after which she stopped contacting Adam. These two seemed to be pursing their dreams successfully but certainly not happily. Adam’s band had grown to be one of the most popular bands but despite the money and fame, he was far from happy. The reason is certainly tied to losing Mia without any explanation. Mia on the other hand had become a Julliard rising star with a bright future ahead of her. The book takes us through their meeting one fateful night during which they explored the city and discussed certain things, mostly about why Mia broke up with him. It appears Mia had acted upon the promise Adam made when she was dying, hence the reason why she left him.

“If you stay, I’ll do whatever you want. I’ll quit the band, go with you to New York. But if you need me to go away, I’ll do that, too. Maybe coming back to your old life would just be too painful, maybe it’d be easier for you to erase us. And that would suck, but I’d do it. I can lose you like that if I don’t lose you today. I’ll let you go. If you stay” – Adam

This book was written in first person narration but unlike If I Stay, Adam was the narrator. I liked the fact that the author made us have a feel of the story from a different narrator. I also liked the way each chapter started with the lyrics of Adam’s songs.  Any lover of young adult novels would certainly enjoy this.

~”A day might be just twenty-four hours but sometimes getting through just one seems as impossible as scaling Everest”-Gayle Forman, Where She Went~

