Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

ifIStay

I remember seeing the trailer to the movie titled If I Stay few years back, but somehow I never got around to watching it. (I’m guessing I’m the only one who hasn’t. Lol) So when I came across the book few days ago, I just knew I was definitely going to watch the movie after I must have read the book this time. However I haven’t had time to see the movie yet but I’m looking forward to it.  If I Stay was written by Gayle Forman and published in 2009 and wasn’t adapted into a movie until five years later.

Mia, a 17 year old talented cello player had everything going well for her; a loving family, an adorable talented boyfriend and a possible admission to Julliard School, until something happened that turned her life around in ways she didn’t expect. The day had started like every normal day, but then a terrible accident involving her whole family changed all that leaving Mia, (the only survivor) with the task of making a decision between life and death.

If I Stay was written in first person narrative with Mia being the narrator. She is technically away from her body and experiences all the events that occurs right after the accident. The reader is made to believe that she has to choose between life and death. The book starts with the present (the morning of the accident), however, as the story progresses, her past is being interjected with her present giving the readers an insight into her life.

I enjoyed reading this, not only because it was an easy and short read but also because the story was quite captivating as I was really eager to know what choice she made eventually. Did she choose to let go or stay? I remember thinking if I was Mia, what choice would I have made?

I wouldn’t really classify this as a romance story because it is not technically a ‘lovey-dovey’ kind of story but yet it portrayed a form of true love which Mia shared with not just her boyfriend but also her family and best friend. If you are a lover of young adult fiction, this is definitely a book you would enjoy. There is a sequel titled; Where she went” which I’m currently reading and it’s just as good as this. I really do hope that there is a movie adaptation of it as well.

~”Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you”- Gayle Forman, If I Stay”~

 

