Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

smart.jpg

I’ve always preferred fiction books to non-fiction (biographies and autobiographies, not inclusive). The reason is not far fetched, I love stories and I love to picture the characters in my head. I had thought this book was the typical “get rich”, “be your own boss”, “have financial freedom” kind of motivational book with no practical examples to guide the reader. So, the only reason I decided to read it was because there had been so much fuss about it all over social media last year and I was really curious as to what must have made it so special. Now, I’m so glad I allowed curiosity to get the better of me because this book was not just enlightening but quite interesting as well!

Zuri is a young lady with a good job, good car, a good apartment in Lekki and a good fabulous life. However, the only thing not good about her was her financial troubles. Despite earning what most people would classify as “high-income” salary, Zuri was broke and seemed to be in a lot of debts with no assets whatsoever to boast of. This book takes us through her journey towards financial freedom.

One thing I liked about The Smart Money Woman was the way it was laid out. Each chapter focused on a particular topic, and Zuri’s story as related to that topic is narrated, after which there is a lesson segment that points out specific financial lessons relating to that topic and the chapter then ends with a practical exercise assigned to the reader all in a bid to pave the readers’ way towards financial freedom. I used to believe I was financially intelligent enough for my age, no wonder I was surprised that Zuri who had not so much responsibilities was having trouble paying off her debts despite earning that much. But then, I learnt that if one is not mindful enough, the higher your income, the higher your expenses would be. Though I’m still a long way from attaining financial freedom (which is when my passive income exceeds my expenses), this book has armed me with tips to help me towards that path. There are tons of lessons to pick out from this book and one that was quite mentioned a couple of times is the importance of saving out of your income to acquire assets that would provide you with an income in future.

I love this book and I can boldly recommend this to anyone, that’s to show how much I enjoyed it.

~”At the end of the day, we are all afraid of something but the difference between successful people and average people is that they acknowledge their fears but don’t let fear overcome them or stop them from achieving their goals”- Arese Ugwu, The Smart Money Woman~

