Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

29sn

I came across @naijasinglegirl on Instagram few months ago. She is one funny lady whose posts usually cracks me up, so when I found out about her new book; 29, Single & Nigerian, I didn’t need any convincing before I decided to order it. Knowing this was her first novel, I didn’t have high expectations, and I guess this was what made me like the book more eventually.

The publisher summarizes it as follows;

29-year-old Edikan has lived her whole life in abject poverty. When she departs her hometown in Ikot Ansa for Lagos, her expectations are high.

A roof over head, a high paying job and a man she can finally call her own tops her priority. Months after, she is forced to grapple with the reality that the city of her dreams is not all that. With constant pressure from her family, the stigma associated with being unmarried and dark memories haunting from her past; days become nights and nights become torture.

29, Single & Nigerian is an emotional, gripping, mesmerizing and humorous tale of survival you won’t forget in a hurry.

The story revolves round Edikan, a 29 year old Nigerian lady, single and jobless with a family to take care of. The author takes us through her challenges and heartbreaks in her search for a husband and a job. From my perspective, Edikan seems a little bit naive for her age. Considering her poor background and her past experiences, I kind of expected more from her, I guess that’s just me being overly realistic. Regardless, Edikan is a lovely lady with a good heart.

One thing I can confidently say is that this book is quite hilarious. There are a lot of passages that made me laugh. Aside the humor, this is a serious book that depicts the trials of not just single ladies in Nigeria but unemployed ones as well. I really enjoyed this book and I’m looking forward to reading more books from this author.

