Tags

, , , , , ,

eleanor

Rainbow Rowell, the author of Eleanor & Park is a woman I had not heard of until few weeks ago. She published this novel in 2013 and it received positive feedback. It earned the 2014 Michael L. Printz Award Honor book for excellence in young adult literature amongst others awards. This book was set in the 1980s. Immediately I was notified that this was the book to be read for the week on twitter by @TheReadClub, I was positive I was going to enjoy this book, thanks to the cover page.

Eleanor & Park is a young teenage love story between these two characters. Eleanor was a fat, red-head 16-year old new girl on the school bus who was ridiculed by her classmates. Park on the other hand was an half-Korean 16-year old boy. It was not a “love at first sight” kind of thing because Park behaved rudely to her on their first meeting. However, through the shared love of comics and music, these two became closer and fell in love. Eleanor was from a dysfunctional family unlike Park whose home was filled with love and comfort. With time, they usually devised ways to be alone without Eleanor’s step-father finding out as this would infuriate him. This story did not end with “happily ever after” as Eleanor had to leave her family to go live with her uncle due to the fear of her step-father violent and sexually abusive behavior. Park wrote her letters for 6 months and tried to forget her but wasn’t successful with that. Eleanor only replied with a postcard with just 3 words after 6 months!.

Despite how much I loved this book, I did not like the ending at all. I don’t really like when authors end their books without a concise ending. I really want to know what happened and not fill it with my imagination. I’m not sure if those three words were “I love you” or “I miss you”, or maybe “Please forget me”. It could have been anything! Another thing I couldn’t wrap my head around was the reason why she didn’t reply Park. I’m really curious. Why!?

Anyways, I give this book 8/10

~”What are the chances you’d ever meet someone you could love forever,someone who would forever love u back?”- Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor&Park ~

 

