Tags

, , , ,

theFaultInOurStarsI took a little detour from my “Jodi Picoult” spree I explained before. It wasn’t intentional though, I just happened to come across “The Fault In Our Stars” and I couldn’t just skip it. Considering the fact that I had watched the movie, my desire to devour the book as soon as possible was irresistible. I remember watching the movie at the cinemas during the premier week and I couldn’t forget the “awws, eeya” from my fellow viewers. It was that interesting and touching.
“The Fault In Our Stars!” written by John Green, is a love story of two teenagers fighting cancer. Hazel met Augustus at a cancer support group and their friendship began. This friendship blossomed to a relationship. We are made to believe that they were so much in love with each other. One of the evidences is Hazel’s attempt to push Augustus away as she wanted to reduce the number of people that would be hurt by her death. Another evidence is Augustus using his last cancer wish to secure a trip for them to Amsterdam just to visit an author Hazel was desperate to see. Although the result of the visit didn’t meet their expectation, the trip was fun for them. The readers were given the idea that Hazel’s cancer seemed more serious than Augustus’s. However, when Augustus’s cancer was discovered to have regrown, he kept the news form Hazel as she was just recovering from an attack and he didn’t want to ruin their trip to Amsterdam. Eventually, Hazel was informed and her life was literally shattered. She was with him during his last days which wasn’t in the best interest of her parents. Augustus died but her love for him lived on….(I think)

I can’t pretend to say I know how it feels to have cancer,I can only say I understand having to go through pain that the next person doesn’t understand. It hurts. I was almost moved to tears while watching the movie especially at that point where Hazel gave the mémoire (but of course, I didn’t cry). I really wish I had read the book before watching. It’s usually more fun that way.

I would give this book 8/10.

~”You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices”- John Green, The Fault In Our Stars ~

