Tags

, ,

The gubernatorial elections was held nationwide yesterday and in most places low-turnout was observed but however, there was a higher efficiency on the part of the INEC officials compared to that of the Presidential elections. Unfortunately, incidents of violence were reported in some parts of the nation such as Rivers and Osun and this makes one wonder why people seem to take politics as a do or die affair. May the souls of those lost rest in peace.

The collation of results for the Presidential election which was held two weeks ago lasted for approximately 3 days. For me, these 3 days seemed to be the longest I have had in a long time. I mean, I was just too anxious to know the winner. I stayed glued to my system (as I couldnt watch TV while in my department) watching it online (thanks to channelstv) all day except when Jega (INEC Chairman) had to go on his “short breaks”! (which usually lasted for hours).  At the end of it all, Mohammed Buhari-the Presdient-elect broke the jinx by being the first person to defeat an incumbent President in Nigeria.  SAI BABA!

This post wouldn’t be complete if I don’t commend Jega for his performance in the just concluded elections. What really stood out for me was the way he handled the ‘Orubebe’ issue which would have affected the collation process negatively had Jega not reacted wisely. Mehn, that man is a new definition of ‘calm’.

Jega

As we wait patiently for the results of the gubernatorial elections, we sincerely hope that those elected make Nigerians proud because at the end of it all, we are all #OneNigeria.

